When Grace Sweeps In

Have you ever gone through something really tough, life changing, and quite frankly unfair in your life? When I was 4 I was molested by a neighbor a trusted friend of my parents. I can admit it was confusing at the time I wasn’t quite sure what was happening or why. As children our coping mechanism sometimes is to pretend it didn’t happen and just keep on going. Life as usual I suppose. I remember being threatened by this person not to tell my parents or else he would hurt them. As a little person I fully believed this. How many of us know the enemy is such a liar? He instilled fear in me so I kept quite but this is where His sweet sweet grace swept in:  During this dark time in my life I saw Jesus face to face. I had an encounter with the One True God. One night there He was. He appeared in my room. I knew of Jesus from stories in church but how much do you really know at age 4? I for sure knew this was Jesus. He was so beautiful..surrounded by this glow (His glory I assume), I was so drawn to His kind face, His smile, He reached out His arms as if calling me in. I walked over to Him and He just held me in His warm embrace, caressed my hair and face. It was the warmest most comforting feeling that I can’t even explain. I felt like I was melting in His arms full of love for me and I didn’t want it to ever end. He never said any words to me but He didn’t have to. I knew right then and there that I would never be the same and that He was with me even through the darkness. Why did this happen to me? I have no idea. I don’t hold it against God. All I know is He was there and is still there for me. Through my trials and defeats His mercy never ends. The one thing I take away from this is: I was very vigilant with my girls. I kept an extra eye out for them and made sure to cover them in prayer that this may never happen to them. Know what? God was so faithful. They were never victims. If I had to go through what I did so they wouldn’t have to that is just fine by me. Isn’t that the heart of God? He let His son Jesus take all our punishment so we wouldn’t have to! Amazing!    Many years later I was talking with my Dad and started to share this encounter. His eyes got soooo big and he began to tell me that I would tell him as a little girl about this encounter and also talking with angels and he thought I was making it all up. This is tooo good to make up dad.

 “The Lord bless you and keep you;
The Lord make His face shine upon you,
And be gracious to you;
The Lord lift up His countenance upon you,
And give you peace.”’ Numbers 6:24-26

 

Leave a Reply

