Be Still

This week I intended to write about the healthy ways we grieve and the beauty of using our emotions for healing but I just could not get the inspiration to get started. This will come around another time I suppose. When I began this blog I had every intention of giving it to the Holy Spirit and letting him guide me on what to write and when to write it. This week he has been tugging at my heart about being still.

Be still and know that I am God  -Psalm 46:10

For the last couple of years I have been a volunteer ESL teacher (English as a second language) I loved every minute of it. I got to meet people from all over the world and I fell in love with each and every one of them. As May rolled around this year I started to pray and ask the Lord for guidance to show me what He wanted me to do during the summer months and for the rest of the year. Well to my deepest surprise I kept hearing that still small voice (1 Kings 19:12) saying “nothing”. Uh Oh that can’t mean what I think that means… give up my teaching? Close the door to my students? Sit at home and be useless. (notice how all these thoughts are about me) I was in complete denial until we had a woman’s gathering at my church. Our sweet guest speaker talked about:  You Guessed It! A season in her life in which God called her to do Nothing. Ahhhh! There was my confirmation but thank God for that encounter. She shared how she needed to be busy (just like I felt) and how difficult it was to Be Still yet it brought her so much closer to our Heavenly Father and how much she treasures that year. I left with peace that day knowing this was going to be my season of peace and that I would make the most of every moment.

In my next post I will continue sharing about this journey I am currently on…..

Leave a Reply

