Learning and Leaning

It was the first morning of back to school. I was giddy and excited at the thought of having a whole three hours to myself but what was I going to do for those three hours? The mall stores don’t open for another 2 hours. Hey Walmart is open 24 hours. Nah I’ll just spend money on stuff I don’t really need. I could dive into the abyss of internet searching and get swallowed up for 3 hours (because that’s what happens when I start looking up articles and reading) OK this is not what God meant by taking a season of rest. He meant Rest in me. So I took out my devotional book and bible and soaked in His word and sat there in still silence. I listened and listened. I did not hear anything that morning but I felt Him shower me with His love. I felt His peace surround me. I could feel His presence all around me. As I began to worship I could feel every ounce of me touching Heaven. My heart felt like it was growing inside my chest. Just like that scene in ‘The Grinch Who Stole Christmas’ when his heart grew 3 sizes that day.

The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.” Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. 1 Kings 19:11-12

God is always speaking to us and sometimes not the way we expect or think. In this verse we see He could have spoken to Elijah very powerfully in those events that took place but He chose to speak to him in a gentle whisper. That morning He was speaking to me…ever so gently with a whisper that said “I’m here”.

Leave a Reply

